HAL #41 – Toasted pita bread with Canary Isles sauces

Last night we had a very interesting presentation by writer Diamela Eltit in our department. One of my favorite parts of these gatherings – other than the intellectual aspect – is the reception that usually ensues, of course. I am human after all, and I had spent about 10h working at university by the time the speaker finished. Food was necessary. After the event, again as is starting to be a trend, there was so much food left, not because the department ordered too much, but because people didn’t eat in any meaningful amounts yet again. So, as is practically ritual, organizers and helpers divided the leftovers to take home as no healthy food should be thrown away, ever. I got a plate of chicken that I ate for dinner (I wasn’t about to start cooking at 11pm) and what seemed like a bottomless bag of pita bread.

Seriously. I have so much pita at home right now. Did anybody even touch the pita? SO. MUCH. In my home. Which makes life even better. So, busy as I am revising all my written thesis chapters time and time again, on this cloudy and gloomy day, I thought I’d put some color out in the universe. I recalled I still had some of the sauces my awesome Bryan brought from Canary Isles (mojo picón, mojo verde, almogrote & miel) and so I proceeded to use them on previously toasted pita, reserving a couple of the pieces for homemade garlic bread.

The result: HAL perfection. See for yourself below. If that doesn’t look like a happy, nutritious, colorful, healthy awesome lunch, I don’t know what does. I’m tempted to print it in a large canvas and hang it on the wall.

DSC09121

Leave a Reply

