My phone history – updated

I tried, I really did. No matter how much effort I put into it, I cannot stand Android. It makes no sense. It’s a mess. There’s no coherence at all. Every app does its own thing and none of them communicate with the others. Google is obviously trying to improve design with Android 4.2/4.3/4.4 but everything still feels way too segregated to make any sense to me. The Nexus 4, however, is beautiful to say the least. Gorgeous screen, thin and light, it really is a beautiful device. I wish I were able to install WP8 on this Nexus device. That is never going to happen though, and so I sold the Nexus and bought an amazing Lumia 620 for $200, fully factory unlocked, contract free, which as always, remains conditio-sine-qua-non for somebody who travels to Europe like I do. Not only does the non-reflective yellow case cheer me up every day with its vibrant energy, but it feels great in the hand and what can I say about WP8, it’s the perfect platform for me. Everything is integrated logically, there’s coherence to make the experience pleasant and the Windows Phone platform has unbeatable beautiful design (plus, white-on-black text, need I say more…). 2 months with the 620 and I’m happier than I’ve been in a long time. Extra points: got a magenta case original from Nokia for a miserly $3 and free shipping on eBay, so this 620 will be ready to become my mom’s during xmas 2014 when I will surely upgrade to a newer device. Win-win!

My phone history

Extra plus points: the case is translucent and so not only does light bleed through it making it shine when outdoors, but when using the flashlight at night this phone glows! LOVE.

DSC08722

Leave a Reply

