HAL #36 – Juice & veggie burger

About a month ago I was motivated to try juicing after watching Fat, Sick & Nearly Dead on Netflix. Granted, I’m nowhere as fat/unhealthy as the people in that documentary are, but being 5.7 and weighing 180 pounds, I figured this would be a nice way to try to go down to 170 pounds. I never planned to do anything crazy like their week, 10-day or 2-month detox programs (nothing that extreme can be good for a normal person if you ask me) but substituting heavier dinners with a veggie/fruit juice and using the leftover pulp to prepare a healthy veggie burger sounded like a delicious and healthy plan.

And so, I finally got my new Black & Decker juicer from Amazon today. It’s not the best around, but it’s quite decent and more than good enough for light daily juicing, plus a good $60 cheaper than the cheapest Breville. Besides, for my 1st juicer, it struck me as a sensible choice monetarily in case I didn’t like the experience. As I got the box, I proceeded to make some amazing healthy awesome lunch. For the juice, I used 1/2 cucumber, 1 piece of celery, 1 carrot, 1 orange and some spinach (the latter goes 1st into the juicer so that more watery foods will help bring it down later). After that was ready, I left it in the fridge for 10 minutes while I made a veggie burger with the leftover pulp (except the orange) by mixing it with salmon and garlic, stir frying it for a few minutes and finally adding some salt, pepper and flax seed. Maybe in the future I’ll get adventurous and try to include the orange, but it seemed a little too exotic for my 1st attempt 🙂

Bottom line: today’s HAL was SO GOOD and it made me especially happy that nothing went to waste (Keira was somewhat disappointed that she didn’t get a piece of Salmon!). This juicing thing holds promise and the whole process made me so incredibly happy. Next up I’ll have to experiment with olives and other natural additives!

DSC07143

Leave a Reply

